BARKSTON AND SYSTON DIAMOND JUBILEE COMMITTEE

PUBLIC MEETING

FRIDAY, 13TH JANUARY 2012

PRESENT

Councillor M Nussey (Chairman) Councillor A Rowell Councillor S Kelly Councillor S T Elnor Councillor B H Noyes Councillor P Connor Councillor A Card Councillor S Evans Mrs C Rowell (Village Hall) Mrs M Anderson (PCC) Janet Baker (Village Hall) Barbara Green Amanda Strawson Wendy Card Bex Mezzo (Barkston Guides/Centenary Senior Section Joy Bristow Jill Hawkins Margaret Elnor Pat Haynes Melanie Stevens Malcolm Hall (Parish Clerk)

The Chairman (Councillor Maryan Nussey) welcomed those present and thanked them for attending. She asked the Clerk to read a note of points for discussion, mainly being ideas which had been considered at the Silver Jubilee in 1977.

One extra matter was added, namely the Woodland Trust's Jubilee Woods Scheme, involving free tree or hedge packs from the Royal Estate, including an oak sapling. After discussion it was agreed to order a hedge pack and to consider the best location for the sapling at a later date.

Various matters in connection with the celebrations/commemoration were discussed and agreed as follows:-

- 1. Commemorative mugs to be obtained for all children under 16 and living in Barkston and Syston. Numbers to be established prior to an order being placed.
- Beacon/bonfire agreed in principle on same or similar site to 1977. Councillor S Elnor to confirm with landowner. Nationwide lighting 10 p.m. – 10.30 p.m. on 4th June (times to be confirmed).
- 3. Insurance Secretary to investigate.
- 4. Celebration day agreed for 4th June on the Playing Field. Street party considered, but provisionally all events to be on the Playing Field.
- 5. Events children's events, races etc, accompanied by a picnic (self-brought), followed by an evening barbeque and the beacon after 10 p.m. 1952 theme?
- 6. Hygiene regulations Secretary to verify.
- 7. Church Service Sunday or Monday subject to availability of clergy.
- 8. Senior citizens tea party in the Village Hall or St Nicholas' Close centre on 2nd June.
- 9. Committee to discuss the above and any other ideas in detail:- Bex Mezzo, Councillor Maryan Nussey, Pat Haynes, Margaret Elnor, Councillor Sue Evans and an under 16 representative.
- 10. Next meeting Friday, 3rd February at 7 p.m. in the Village Hall.
- 11. Secretary/Treasurer Malcolm Hall, Clerk to the Parish Council. The meeting finished at 8.35 p.m.